This information is intended for US healthcare professionals to access current scientific information about J&J Innovative Medicine products. It is prepared by Medical Information and is not intended for promotional purposes, nor to provide medical advice.
Last Updated: 09/22/2026

OrigAMI-4 (ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT06385080).
Abbreviations: AUC, area under the concentration-time curve; BW, body weight; C, cycle; CBR, clinical benefit rate; CPS, combined positive score; CT, computed tomography; D, day; DL0, initial dose level; DLT, dose-limiting toxicity; DOR, duration of response; ECOG PS, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status; EGFR, epidermal growth factor receptor; HNSCC, head and neck squamous cell carcinoma; HPV, human papillomavirus; ILD, interstitial lung disease; ISH, in-situ hybridization; IV, intravenous; MRI, magnetic resonance imaging; ORR, objective response rate; OS, overall survival; PD-1, programmed cell death protein 1; PD-L1, programmed cell death-ligand 1; PFS, progression-free survival; PK, pharmacokinetics; QW, weekly; Q3W, every 3 weeks; RECIST, Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors; R/M, recurrent/metastatic; RP2D, recommended phase 2 dose; SC, subcutaneous; SD, stable disease; SET, study evaluation team.
a
b
c
d
e
f
g
h
i
iNeoadjuvant amivantamab SC plus pembrolizumab will be administered prior to surgery (2 cycles). Following surgery, patients will receive adjuvant radiation (with or without cisplatin) plus pembrolizumab (3 cycles), followed by adjuvant amivantamab SC plus pembrolizumab (12 cycles).
k
l
Note: Disease was assessed at baseline and every 6 weeks (±1 week) for 1 year, then every 9 weeks thereafter using CT or MRI per RECIST v1.1. Brain imaging by MRI (or CT if MRI was contraindicated) at baseline was required for all patients with a history of brain metastasis or suspected brain metastasis, with repeat scans performed every 12 weeks (±1 week).
| Characteristic | Cohort 1 (n=102) |
|---|---|
| Median age, years (range) | 63 (30-81) |
| <65 years, n (%) | 56 (55) |
| ≥65 to <75 years, n (%) | 35 (34) |
| ≥75 years, n (%) | 11 (11) |
| Sex, n (%) | |
| Male | 79 (77) |
| Female | 23 (23) |
| Race, n (%) | |
| Asian | 45 (44) |
| White | 42 (41) |
| Black or African American | 1 (1) |
| Not reported/unknown | 14 (14) |
| Region, n (%) | |
| Eastern Asia | 42 (41) |
| North America | 29 (28) |
| Europe | 29 (28) |
| Southeastern Asia | 2 (2) |
| Median body weight, kg (range) | 61.5 (40-96) |
| <80 kg, n (%) | 93 (91) |
| ≥80 kg, n (%) | 9 (9) |
| ECOG PS score, n (%) | |
| 0 | 34 (33) |
| 1 | 68 (67) |
| History of smoking, n (%) | |
| Yes | 72 (71) |
| No | 30 (29) |
| Median time from initial head and neck diagnosis, months (range) | 21.2 (3.2-269.7) |
| Median time from recurrent/metastatic disease diagnosis, months (range) | 8.9 (0.4-43.7) |
| Primary tumor location, n (%) | |
| Oral cavity | 48 (47) |
| Larynx | 24 (24) |
| Hypopharynx | 16 (16) |
| Oropharynx | 14 (14) |
| Stage at screening, n (%) | |
| III | 4 (4) |
| IVA | 22 (22) |
| IVB | 11 (11) |
| IVC | 65 (64) |
| Site of recurrence/metastasisa, n (%) | |
| Head and neck | 66 (65) |
| Lung | 53 (52) |
| Local lymph node | 40 (39) |
| Distant lymph node | 24 (24) |
| Bone | 12 (12) |
| Liver | 7 (7) |
| Skin | 3 (3) |
| Other | 19 (19) |
| Patients with ≥1 prior therapy, n (%) | |
| Prior systemic therapy | 102 (100) |
| 1 prior line of therapy | 53 (52) |
| 2 prior lines of therapy | 49 (48) |
| Abbreviations: ECOG PS, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status; SC, subcutaneous.aPatients can be counted in >1 category. | |
| Cohort 1 (n=102) | |
|---|---|
| Received amivantamab SC, n | 102 |
| Disposition, n (%) | |
| Ongoing treatment | 32 (31) |
| Discontinued treatment | 70 (69) |
| Disease progression | 54 (53) |
| Adverse event | 15 (15) |
| Related adverse event | 8 (8) |
| Withdrawal by patient | 1 (1) |
| Abbreviations: SC, subcutaneous | |
| Cohort 1 (n=102) | ||
|---|---|---|
| BICR-assessed response | Investigator-assessed response | |
| Median follow-up, months (range) | 11.8 (1.1-21.9) | |
| Confirmed ORR, % (95% CI) | 42 (32-52) | 47 (37-57) |
| Best response, n (%) | ||
| CR | 15 (15) | 7 (7) |
| PR | 28 (27) | 41 (40) |
| SD | 36 (35)a | 39 (38) |
| PD | 16 (16) | 9 (9) |
| NE | 7 (7) | 6 (6) |
| CBR, % (95% CI)b | 63 (53-72) | 74 (64-82) |
| Median DOR, months (95% CI) | NR (6.9-NR)c | 9.5 (6.7-NR)d |
| DOR ≥6 months, n (%) | 24 (56) | 26 (54) |
| Abbreviations: BICR, blinded independent central review; CI, confidence interval; CBR, clinical benefit rate; CR, complete response; DOR, duration of response; NE, not evaluable; NR, not reached; ORR, objective response rate; PD, progressive disease; PR, partial response; SC, subcutaneous; SD, stable disease. aIncludes non-CR/non-PD in patients with only non-target lesions at baseline and no evidence of disease in patients with no target or non-target lesions at baseline. bCBR is defined as the percentage of patients achieving a CR or PR, or durable SD (at the second disease assessment).cAmong 43 confirmed responders.dAmong 48 confirmed responders. | ||
| Subgroup | n/N | ORR (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|
| Overall | 43/102 | 42 (32-52) |
| Age | ||
| <65 years | 29/56 | 52 (38-65) |
| ≥65 years | 14/46 | 30 (18-46) |
| <75 years | 38/91 | 42 (32-53) |
| ≥75 years | 5/11 | 45 (17-77) |
| Sex | ||
| Male | 32/79 | 41 (30-52) |
| Female | 11/23 | 48 (27-69) |
| Body weight | ||
| <80 kg | 42/93 | 45 (35-56) |
| ≥80 kg | 1/9 | 11 (0-48) |
| Race | ||
| Asian | 19/45 | 42 (28-58) |
| Non-Asian | 15/43 | 35 (21-51) |
| ECOG PS | ||
| 0 | 15/34 | 44 (27-62) |
| 1 | 28/68 | 41 (29-54) |
| History of smoking | ||
| Yes | 29/72 | 40 (29-53) |
| No | 14/30 | 47 (28-66) |
| Primary tumor location | ||
| Oral cavity | 27/48 | 56 (41-71) |
| Non-oral cavity | 16/54 | 30 (18-44) |
| Prior lines of therapya | ||
| 1 | 23/53 | 43 (30-58) |
| 2 | 20/49 | 41 (27-56) |
| Abbreviations: BICR, blinded independent central review; CI, confidence interval; ECOG PS, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status; ORR, objective response rate.aPrior lines of therapy was not a prespecified subgroup. | ||
| Endpoint | Cohort 1 (n=102) |
|---|---|
| Median PFSa, months (95% CI) | 6.8 (5.2-8.3) |
| PFS rate at 6 months, % (95% CI) | 53 (43-62) |
| PFS rate at 12 months, % (95% CI) | 23 (13-35) |
| Median OS, months (95% CI) | 12.5 (10.2-16.8) |
| OS rate at 6 months, % (95% CI) | 78 (69-85) |
| OS rate at 12 months, % (95% CI) | 54 (42-64) |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence interval; OS, overall survival; PFS, progression-free survival.aAssessed by investigator. | |
| TEAE, n (%) | Cohort 1 (n=102) |
|---|---|
| Any TEAE | 102 (100) |
| Any grade ≥3 TEAE | 61 (60) |
| Any grade 5 | 6 (6)a |
| Any serious TEAE | 40 (39) |
| Any TEAE leading to: | |
| Dose interruption | 52 (51) |
| Dose reduction | 23 (23) |
| Discontinuation | 17 (17) |
| Treatment-related discontinuation | 8 (8)b |
| Abbreviations: AE, adverse event; TEAE, treatment-emergent adverse event.aFor grade 5 TEAEs, 1 patient had treatment-related pneumonitis resulting in death. Five additional deaths due to AEs occurred, which were considered unrelated to amivantamab. bEight patients discontinued amivantamab due to treatment-related AEs for the following reasons: rash or pustular rash (n=2), blood alkaline phosphate increased (n=1), folliculitis (n=1), interstitial lung disease (n=1), paronychia (n=1), pneumonitis (n=1), stomatitis (n=1). | |
| Cohort 1 (n=102) | ||
|---|---|---|
| All Grades | Grade ≥3 | |
| Hypoalbuminemia | 51 (50) | 5 (5) |
| Rash | 38 (37) | 3 (3) |
| Dermatitis acneiform | 35 (34) | 6 (6) |
| Paronychia | 35 (34) | 2 (2) |
| Fatigue | 29 (28) | 4 (4) |
| Stomatitis | 29 (28) | 2 (2) |
| Hypocalcemia | 25 (25) | 1 (1) |
| Peripheral edema | 24 (24) | 1 (1) |
| Anemia | 22 (22) | 5 (5) |
| Weight decreased | 18 (18) | 1 (1) |
| Hypomagnesemia | 18 (18) | 1 (1) |
| Nausea | 17 (17) | 0 |
| AST increased | 16 (16) | 3 (3) |
| Diarrhea | 16 (16) | 0 |
| Lymphopenia | 15 (15) | 9 (9) |
| ALT increased | 15 (15) | 4 (4) |
| Pruritus | 15 (15) | 2 (2) |
| Administration-related reaction | 15 (15) | 0 |
| Decreased appetite | 15 (15) | 0 |
| Hypokalemia | 15 (15) | 3 (3) |
| Dyspnea | 13 (13) | 3 (3) |
| Pneumonia | 12 (12) | 6 (6) |
| Insomnia | 12 (12) | 0 |
| Asthenia | 11 (11) | 0 |
| Dizziness | 11 (11) | 0 |
| Constipation | 10 (10) | 0 |
| Pyrexia | 10 (10) | 1 (1) |
| Hypotension | 10 (10) | 0 |
| Abbreviations: ALT, alanine aminotransferase; AST, aspartate aminotransferase; TEAE, treatment-emergent adverse event. | ||
| TRAEs (≥10%), n (%) | Cohort 1 (n=102) |
|---|---|
| Hypoalbuminemia | 41 (40) |
| Rash | 38 (37) |
| Dermatitis acneiform | 34 (33) |
| Paronychia | 34 (33) |
| Stomatitis | 27 (26) |
| Fatigue | 20 (20) |
| Pruritus | 15 (15) |
| Administration-related reaction | 15 (15) |
| Diarrhea | 12 (12) |
| Hypocalcemia | 12 (12) |
| Peripheral edema | 12 (12) |
| Hypomagnesemia | 12 (12) |
| Hypokalemia | 11 (11) |
| Decreased appetite | 10 (10) |
| Abbreviations: TRAE, treatment-related adverse event. | |
| Cohort 2 (n=39) | |
|---|---|
| Median age, years (range) | 63 (39-77) |
| <65 years, n (%) | 22 (56) |
| ≥65 to <75 years, n (%) | 15 (38) |
| ≥75 years, n (%) | 2 (5) |
| Sex, n (%) | |
| Male | 33 (85) |
| Female | 6 (15) |
| Race, n (%) | |
| White | 20 (51) |
| Asian | 18 (46) |
| Not reported | 1 (3) |
| Region, n (%) | |
| Europe | 17 (44) |
| Eastern Asia | 13 (33) |
| Southeastern Asia | 5 (13) |
| North America | 4 (10) |
| Median body weight, kg (range) | 63 (38-92) |
| <80 kg, n (%) | 34 (87) |
| ≥80 kg, n (%) | 5 (13) |
| ECOG PS, n (%) | |
| 0 | 17 (44) |
| 1 | 22 (56) |
| Median time from initial diagnosis to first dose, months (range) | 19 (0.7-286.6) |
| Median time from recurrent/metastatic diagnosis to first dose, monthsa (range) | 1.5 (0.5-98.9) |
| Primary tumor location, n (%) | |
| Oral cavity | 18 (46) |
| Hypopharynx | 8 (21) |
| Larynx | 7 (18) |
| Oropharynxb | 6 (15) |
| Stage at screening | |
| I | 1 (3) |
| II | 2 (5) |
| IVA | 10 (26) |
| IVB | 5 (13) |
| IVC | 21 (54) |
| Site of recurrence/metastasisa,c | |
| Head and neck | 24 (63) |
| Distant lymph node | 11 (29) |
| Lung | 11 (29) |
| Local lymph node | 10 (26) |
| Bone | 3 (8) |
| Liver | 2 (5) |
| Pelvis | 1 (3) |
| Other | 3 (8) |
| Location of recurrence/metastasisa | |
| Locoregional only | 18 (47) |
| Distant only | 10 (26) |
| Locoregional and distant | 10 (26) |
| Abbreviations: ECOG PS, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status; IV, intravenous; SC, subcutaneous. aReported in 38 patients.bAll patients with an oropharyngeal tumor were p16 negative.cPatients could be included in >1 category. | |
| Cohort 2 (n=39) | |
|---|---|
| Received amivantamab SC plus pembrolizumab IV, n | 39 |
| Disposition, n (%) | |
| Ongoing treatment | 14 (36) |
| Discontinued treatment | 25 (64) |
| Disease progression | 15 (38) |
| AE | 10 (26) |
| TRAEa | 5 (13) |
| Abbreviations: AE, adverse event; IV, intravenous; SC, subcutaneous; TRAE, treatment-related adverse event.aTRAEs leading to discontinuation of all study treatments occurred in 5 (13%) patients and included pneumonitis, hepatitis, immune-mediated cholangitis, rash, and Stevens–Johnson syndrome (n=1 each). | |
| Endpoint | Cohort 2 (n=39) |
|---|---|
| Median follow-up, monthsa (range) | 13.6 (1.6-15.8) |
| Investigator-assessed confirmed ORR, % (95% CI)b | 59 (42-74) |
| Best response, n (%) | |
| Confirmed CR | 7 (18) |
| Confirmed PR | 16 (41) |
| SD | 10 (26) |
| PD | 5 (13) |
| NEc | 1 (3) |
| CBR, % (95% CI)d | 74 (58-87) |
| Median DOR, monthse (95% CI) | NR (4.1-NR) |
| DOR ≥6 months, n (%) | 14 (61) |
| Median PFSf, months (95% CI) | 7.7 (5-NR) |
| Median OS, months (95% CI) | NR (13.6-NR) |
| Abbreviations: CBR, clinical benefit rate; CI, confidence interval; CR, complete response; DOR, duration of response; IV, intravenous; NE, not evaluable; NR, not reached; ORR, objective response rate; OS, overall survival; PD, progressive disease; PFS, progression-free survival; PR, partial response; SC, subcutaneous; SD, stable disease.aThe minimum value for the range is reported for a censored observation.bORR was defined as the percentage of patients who achieved a confirmed response.cOne patient did not have a post baseline tumor assessment, but all patients were included in the ORR analysis.dCBR was defined as the percentage of patients who achieved a confirmed response or durable SD (at the second disease assessment).eDOR was defined as the time from a confirmed response until progression or death, whichever came first; among 23 patients.fInvestigator-assessed. | |
| Event, n (%) | Cohort 2 (n=39) |
|---|---|
| Any TEAE | 39 (100) |
| Grade ≥3 TEAE | 28 (72) |
| Serious TEAE | 23 (59) |
| Any TEAE leading to: | |
| Dose interruption of any study agent | 32 (82) |
| Dose reduction of amivantamaba | 19 (49) |
| Discontinuation of any study agent | 11 (28) |
| Abbreviation: TEAE, treatment-emergent adverse event.aPer protocol, dose reductions of pembrolizumab were not permitted. | |
| TEAEs (≥15%) by Preferred Term, n (%) | All Grades | Grade ≥3 |
|---|---|---|
| Rash | 19 (49) | 6 (15) |
| Paronychia | 18 (46) | 3 (8) |
| Hypoalbuminemia | 17 (44) | 3 (8) |
| Increased AST | 15 (38) | 2 (5) |
| Dermatitis acneiform | 15 (38) | 2 (5) |
| Increased ALT | 14 (36) | 2 (5) |
| Stomatitis | 14 (36) | 2 (5) |
| Fatigue | 12 (31) | 2 (5) |
| Hypothyroidism | 11 (28) | 0 |
| Constipation | 9 (23) | 0 |
| Pneumonia | 9 (23) | 7 (18) |
| Hypomagnesemia | 8 (21) | 0 |
| Peripheral edema | 8 (21) | 0 |
| ARR | 7 (18) | 0 |
| Increased alkaline phosphatase | 7 (18) | 1 (3) |
| Diarrhea | 7 (18) | 1 (3) |
| Hypokalemia | 7 (18) | 1 (3) |
| Hyperamylasemia | 6 (15) | 1 (3) |
| Increased lipase | 6 (15) | 0 |
| Nausea | 6 (15) | 0 |
| Skin fissures | 6 (15) | 0 |
| Decreased weight | 6 (15) | 0 |
| Abbreviations: ALT, alanine aminotransferase; ARR, administration-related reaction; AST, aspartate aminotransferase; TEAE, treatment-emergent adverse event. | ||
| Characteristic | Cohort 3a (n=11)a |
|---|---|
| Median age, years (range) | 58 (39-69) |
| Sex, n (%) | |
| Male | 9 (82) |
| Female | 2 (18) |
| Race, n (%) | |
| Asian | 7 (64) |
| White | 3 (27) |
| Unknown | 1 (9) |
| Primary tumor location, n (%) | |
| Hypopharynx | 1 (9) |
| Larynx | 1 (9) |
| Oropharynx | 1 (9) |
| Oral cavity | 8 (73) |
| Abbreviation: SC, subcutaneous. | |
| TEAEs (≥20%) by Preferred Term, n (%) | Cohort 3a (n=11) | |
|---|---|---|
| All Grades | Grade ≥3 | |
| Associated with EGFR inhibition | ||
| Dermatitis acneiform | 5 (45) | 1 (9) |
| Paronychia | 5 (45) | 0 |
| Stomatitis | 5 (45) | 2 (18) |
| Rash | 4 (36) | 0 |
| Diarrhea | 3 (27) | 1 (9) |
| Associated with MET inhibition | ||
| Hypoalbuminemia | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Other | ||
| Fatigue | 5 (45) | 1 (9) |
| Hypophosphatemia | 4 (36) | 0 |
| Neutropenia | 3 (27) | 2 (18) |
| Pneumonia | 3 (27) | 2 (18) |
| Leukopenia | 3 (27) | 1 (9) |
| Myalgia | 3 (27) | 1 (9) |
| ALT increased | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Anemia | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Back pain | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Constipation | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Hypokalemia | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Nausea | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Pyrexia | 3 (27) | 0 |
| Abbreviations: ALT, alanine aminotransferase; EGFR, epidermal growth factor receptor; MET, mesenchymal-epithelial transition; SC, subcutaneous; TEAE, treatment-emergent adverse event. | ||
| Efficacy Outcome | Cohort 3a (n=11) |
|---|---|
| ORR, % (95% CI) | 64 (31-89) |
| Best response, n | |
| CR | 1a |
| PR | 8 |
| Not evaluable/unknown | 2 |
| Median DOR, months | NR |
| Median time to first response, weeks (range) | 6.6 (6.1-14.6) |
| Tumor shrinkage of target lesions, n | 9 |
| Among confirmed responders, n (%) | 7 (64) |
| Treatment ongoing, n | 4 |
| Median PFS, months | NE |
| Median OS, months | NE |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence interval; CR, complete response; DOR, duration of response; NE, not estimable; NR, not reached; ORR, objective response rate; OS, overall survival; PFS, progression-free survival; PR, partial response; SC, subcutaneous. aResponse ongoing. | |
A literature search of MEDLINE®
| 1 | Leighl NB, Akamatsu H, Lim SM, et al. Subcutaneous versus intravenous amivantamab, both in combination with lazertinib, in refractory epidermal growth factor receptor-mutated non-small cell lung cancer: primary results from the phase III PALOMA-3 study. J Clin Oncol. 2024;42(30):3593-3605. |
| 2 | |
| 3 | |
| 4 | |
| 5 | |
| 6 | |
| 7 | |
| 8 | |
| 9 | |
| 10 |
Would you like to clear and leave your conversation? Message history will be lost.