This information is intended for US healthcare professionals to access current scientific information about J&J Innovative Medicine products. It is prepared by Medical Information and is not intended for promotional purposes, nor to provide medical advice.
Last Updated: 08/26/2026
The main objectives are as follows: part 1 (dose escalation), to determine the recommended phase 2 dose (RP2D) for TECVAYLI; part 2 (dose expansion), to distinguish safety and tolerability at the RP2D; and part 3 (phase 2 component), to evaluate the efficacy of TECVAYLI at the RP2D.3,17
| Overall RP2D | EMD | |
|---|---|---|
| ORRa | 104/165 (63.0) | 10/28 (35.7) |
| sCR, % | 38.8 | 17.9 |
| CR, % | 7.3 | - |
| VGPR, % | 13.3 | 10.7 |
| PR, % | 3.6 | 7.1 |
| ≥CR, % | 46.1 | 17.9 |
| Abbreviations: CR, complete response; EMD, extramedullary disease; ORR, overall response rate; PR, partial response; RP2D, recommended phase 2 dose; sCR, stringent complete response; VGPR, very good partial response. Note: Clinical data cutoff date of August 22, 2023. aResponse assessed by independent review committee. | ||
| Overall RP2D | EMD | |
|---|---|---|
| Responders, n | 104 | 10 |
| mFU, months (range) | 30.4 (0.3-41.5) | 30.9 (0.3-37.9) |
| 24-month DOR rate, % (95% CI) | 50.1 (40.1-59.4) | 50.0 (18.4-75.3) |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence of interval; DOR, duration of response; EMD, extramedullary disease; mFU, median follow-up; RP2D, recommended phase 2 dose. Note: Clinical data cutoff date of August 22, 2023. Results should be interpreted with caution due to small patient numbers. | ||
| Overall RP2D (N=165) | EMD (N=28) | |
|---|---|---|
| Any grade TEAE, n (%) | 165 (100) | 28 (100) |
| Grade 3/4 TEAE | 156 (94.5) | 26 (92.9) |
| Discontinuation due to TEAE, n (%) | 8 (4.8) | 1 (3.6) |
| Deaths, n (%) | 94 (57.0) | 20 (71.4) |
| Due to AE | 26 (15.8) | 2 (7.1) |
| Due to disease progression | 56 (33.9) | 15 (53.6) |
| Abbreviations: AE, adverse event; EMD, extramedullary disease; RP2D, recommended phase 2 dose; TEAE, treatment-emergent adverse event. Note: Clinical data cutoff date of August 22, 2023. Results should be interpreted with caution due to small patient numbers. | ||
| EMD (n=41) | No EMD (n=85) | |
|---|---|---|
| Median age at start of treatment, years, (IQR) | 71 (67-78) | 72 (65-78) |
| Median age at diagnosis, years, (IQR) | 66 (60-71) | 65 (57-71) |
| Male, n (%) | 23 (56) | 45 (52) |
| Performance status 0-1, n (%) | 35 (85) | 80 (93) |
| EMD at start of treatment, n (%) | 41 (100) | - |
| EMD diagnosed by PET-CT scan | 28 (68) | - |
| EMD diagnosed by CT scan | 9 (22) | - |
| EMD diagnosed by MRI | 4 (10) | - |
| FISH performed, n (%)a | 36 (88) | 75 (88) |
| FISH high risk, n (%)a,b | 18 (44) | 27 (31) |
| del(17p) | 13 (32) | 14 (16) |
| t(4;14) | 6 (15) | 11 (13) |
| t(14;16) | 2 (5) | 5 (6) |
| Measurable disease at start of treatment, n (%)c | 28 (68) | 68 (79) |
| Median prior lines of therapy, IQR | 4 (3-5) | 4 (3-5) |
| Previous HDT-ASCT, n (%) | 29 (71) | 58 (67) |
| Triple-class exposed, n (%) | 40 (98) | 84 (98) |
| Triple-class refractory, n (%) | 32 (78) | 57 (66) |
| Refractory immunomodulatory drugs, n (%) | 37 (90) | 77 (90) |
| Refractory PI, n (%) | 35 (85) | 66 (77) |
| Refractory CD38 mAb, n (%) | 38 (93) | 78 (91) |
| Refractory GPRC5D BsAbs, n (%) | 2 (5) | 7 (8) |
| Abbreviations: BsAbs, bispecific antibodies; CT, computed tomography; EMD, extramedullary disease; FISH, fluorescence in situ hybridization; FLC, free light chain; GPRC5D, G protein-coupled receptor class C group 5 member D; HDT-ASCT, high-dose melphalan with autologous stem cell transplantation; IQR, interquartile range; mAb, monoclonal antibody; MRI, magnetic resonance imaging; PET-CT, positron emission tomography-computed tomography; PI, proteasome inhibitor. aIn patients with multiple FISH analyses, the most recent evaluation was reported. b cMeasurable disease was defined as M-protein ≥10 g/L, urine M-protein ≥200 mg/24 h, or involved FLC ≥100 mg/L. | ||
| Responsea | EMD (n=41) | No EMD (n=85) |
|---|---|---|
| ORR, % | 29 | 69 |
| ≥VGPR | 24 | 67 |
| PR | 5 | 2 |
| MR, % | 5 | 4 |
| PD, % | 34 | 12 |
| SD, % | 12 | 5 |
| Unmeasurable disease,b % | 20 | 11 |
| Abbreviations: CR, complete response; EMD, extramedullary disease; IMWG, International Myeloma Working Group; MR, marginal response; ORR, overall response rate; PD, progressive disease; PR, partial response; sCR, stringent complete response; SD, stable disease; VGPR, very good partial response. aResponse was assessed according to IMWG criteria. Since bone marrow biopsies were not routinely performed outside clinical trials in Denmark, sCR, CR, and VGPR were grouped as ≥VGPR. Response categories (except sCR) were applied only to patients with measurable disease at baseline per IMWG criteria. bPatients without measurable disease who did not achieve sCR were classified as “unmeasurable disease”. | ||
| EMD (n=41) | No EMD (n=85) | |
|---|---|---|
| Median PFS,a months | 2.7 | 19.7 |
| 12-month PFS, % (95% CI) | 32 (20-51) | 62 (52-74) |
| Median DOR,b months | 22.1 | 20.4 |
| 12-month DOR, % (95% CI) | 70 (47-100) | 75 (64-88) |
| Median OS, months | 11.5 | NR |
| 12-month OS,c % (95% CI) | 50 (36-68) | 75 (66-86) |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence interval; DOR, duration of response; EMD, extramedullary disease; NR, not reached; OS, overall survival; PFS, progression-free survival. aP value for the comparison of PFS between patients with EMD and without EMD=<0.001.bP value for the comparison of DOR between patients with EMD and without EMD=0.7.cP value for the comparison of OS between patients with EMD and without EMD=0.002. | ||
| Characteristic | True-EMD (n=109) | PSK (n=33) | No-STP (n=243) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age in years, median, (range) | 65.7 (31.2-88.7) | 65.3 (39-84) | 69.2 (37.1-92) |
| Female, n (%) | 49 (45) | 15 (45) | 118 (49) |
| Race, n (%) | |||
| White | 74 (68) | 19 (58) | 162 (67) |
| Black | 20 (18) | 10 (30) | 57 (23) |
| Other | 15 (14) | 4 (12) | 24 (10) |
| Myeloma type, n (%) | |||
| IgA | 24 (22) | 9 (28) | 44 (18) |
| IgG | 57 (53) | 17 (53) | 135 (56) |
| Light chain only | 24 (22) | 6 (16) | 61 (25) |
| Others | 3 (3) | 0 | 3 (1.2) |
| ECOG PS ≥2, n (%) | 24 (23) | 11 (33) | 61 (26) |
| ISS, n (%) | |||
| Stage I | 3 (2.7) | 0 | 4 (1.6) |
| Stage II | 14 (13) | 2 (6) | 35 (14.4) |
| Stage III | 12 (11) | 3 (9) | 22 (9) |
| Unknown/not reported | 80 (73) | 28 (85) | 182 (75) |
| R2-ISS, n (%) | |||
| Stage II | 6 (5.5) | 1 (3) | 7 (3) |
| Stage III | 20 (18) | 4 (12) | 34 (14) |
| Stage IV | 3 (3) | 0 | 17 (7) |
| Unknown/not reported | 80 (73) | 28 (85) | 185 (76) |
| Cytogenetic risk,a n (%) | |||
| Standard risk | 65 (64) | 22 (69) | 156 (68) |
| Confirmed High-risk | 24 (23.5) | 7 (22) | 34 (15) |
| Isolated 17p | 13 (13) | 3 (9) | 38 (17) |
| Plasma cell leukemia (any time), n (%) | 5 (5.0) | 1 (3) | 6 (2.5) |
| Triple-class refractory,b n (%) | 95 (87) | 27 (82) | 200 (82) |
| Penta-refractory,c n (%) | 44 (40) | 11 (33) | 89 (37) |
| Median prior LOTs, range | 6.5 (3-16) | 6 (2-18) | 6 (2-17) |
| Prior BCMA-directed therapy, n (%) | 68 (62) | 17 (51.5) | 108 (44) |
| Abbreviations: BCMA, B-cell maturation antigen; ECOG PS, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status; EMD; extramedullary disease; Ig, immunoglobulin; IMS, International Myeloma Society; IMWG, International Myeloma Working Group; ISS, International Staging System; LOTs, lines of therapy; PSK, paraskeletal; R2-ISS, Revised Second International Staging System; STP; soft tissue plasmacytoma. aPatients were classified based on a modified version of the 2025 IMS/IMWG consensus criteria: standard risk, confirmed high-risk, defined as t(4;14), t(14;16), or t(14;20) in combination with either gain/amp(1q) or del(1p), or concomitant gain/amp(1q) and del(1p) (including cases with concurrent del[17p]), and isolated del(17p), categorized separately if not meeting criteria for confirmed high-risk, regardless of variant allele frequency or clonal fraction, given the absence of TP53 mutation data and incomplete FISH threshold information. bRefractory to ≥1 immunomodulatory drug, ≥1 proteasome inhibitor, and ≥1 anti-CD38 monoclonal antibody. cRefractory to ≥2 immunomodulatory drugs, ≥2 proteasome inhibitors, and ≥1 anti-CD38 monoclonal antibody. | |||
| Response | True-EMD | PSK | No-STP |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best hematologic response | |||
| ORR, % | 38 | 54.1 | 62.4 |
| ≥CRa | 12 | 21 | 28 |
| VGPR | 13 | 24 | 27 |
| PR | 13 | 9.1 | 7.4 |
| Best radiographic responseb | |||
| ORR, % | 44 | 66.5 | - |
| CR | 34 | 29 | - |
| PR | 10 | 37.5 | - |
| Abbreviations: CR, complete response; EMD, extramedullary disease; ORR, overall response rate; PR, partial response; PSK, paraskeletal; STP, soft tissue plasmacytoma; VGPR, very good partial response. aP value=0.006. bRadiographic response was evaluable in 62% of the patients (n=68) in true-EMD group and 73% (n=24) in PSK group. | |||
| Survival Outcomes | True EMD (n=109) | PSK (n=33) | No-STP (n=243) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median PFS,a months (95% CI) | 1.41 (0.98-3.9) | 6.50 (3.5-NR) | 8.95 (6.7-12.1) |
| Median OS,b months (95% CI) | 9.5 (4.54-NR) | NR (13.1-NR) | NR (16.1-NR) |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence interval; EMD, extramedullary disease; NR, not reached; OS, overall survival; PFS, progression-free survival; PSK, paraskeletal disease; STP, soft tissue plasmacytoma.aP value for PFS among groups=<0.0001.bP value for OS among groups=0.00012. | |||
| Adverse event | True-EMD (n=109) | PSK (n=33) | No-STP (n=243) | P Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRS | ||||
| Any grade CRS, n (%) | 57 (52) | 18 (54.5) | 144 (59) | 0.3 |
| ≥Grade 2 CRS, n (%) | 9 (8) | 2 (6) | 30 (12) | 0.4 |
| Median time to start of CRS, days | 3 (1–8) | 3 (1–8) | 2 (0–15) | 0.079 |
| Median duration of CRS, daysᵃ | 0 (0–11) | 0 (0–3) | 0 (0–11) | 0.2 |
| ICANS | ||||
| Any grade ICANS, n (%) | 17 (16) | 5 (15) | 31 (13) | 0.7 |
| ≥Grade 2 ICANS, n (%) | 10 (9) | 5 (15) | 13 (5) | 0.045 |
| Median time to start of ICANS, days | 5 (0–25) | 4 (1–21) | 3 (0–14) | 0.2 |
| Cause of TECVAYLI discontinuation, n (%) | 0.003 | |||
| MM or PD related | 76 (82) | 15 (65) | 97 (60) | |
| Infection | 9 (10) | 1 (4) | 26 (16) | |
| Others | 8 (10%) | 7 (30) | 39 (24) | |
| Cause of death, n (%) | ||||
| PD related | 45 (41) | 8 (24) | 48 (20) | 0.14 |
| NRM related | 10 (9) | 2 (6) | 24 (10) | - |
| Abbreviations: CRS, cytokine release syndrome; EMD, extramedullary disease; ICANS, immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome; MM, multiple myeloma; NRM, nonrelapse mortality; PD, progressive disease; PSK, paraskeletal; STP, soft tissue plasmacytoma. aIn CRS, a median time of 0 indicates that it lasted less than 1 day. | ||||
| Efficacy Parameters | TECVAYLI Group (n=45) | CAR-T cell Group (n=65) | P Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median follow-up, months (range) | 3.7 (0.5-10.4) | 6.5 (0.5-22) | - |
| Median PFS, months (95% CI) | 2 (1.1-NR) | 6.5 (5.1-9.6) | 0.039 |
| Median OS, months (95% CI) | NR (3.9-NR) | 12.9 (9.5-NR) | 0.057 |
| ORR, n (%) | 21 (47) | 50 (77) | 0.002 |
| ≥CR | 9 (20) | 27 (42) | 0.02 |
| Abbreviations: CAR, chimeric antigen receptor; CI, confidence interval; CR, complete response; NR, not reached; ORR, overall response rate; OS, overall survival; PFS, progression-free survival. | |||
| Safety Parameters, n (%) | TECVAYLI Group (n=45) | CAR-T cell Group (n=65) | P Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Incidence of CRS | 27 (60) | 47 (72) | 0.21 |
| Grade ≥3 | 0 (0) | 3 (4.5) | |
| Incidence of ICANS | 7 (15.5) | 18 (27.5) | 0.16 |
| Grade ≥3 | 2 (4.5) | 3 (4.5) | |
| Infections ≤8 weeks after TECVAYLI initiation or CAR-T cell infusion | 13 (29) | 25 (38) | 0.31 |
| Abbreviations: CAR, chimeric antigen receptor; CRS, cytokine release syndrome; ICANS, immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome. | |||
| Characteristic | n (event n) | Median PFS, Months | Univariable | Multivariable | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HR (95% CI) | P Value | HR (95% CI) | P Value | |||
| EMD | - | - | - | <0.01 | - | <0.01 |
| No | 73 (26) | NR | 1.00 (referent) | - | 1.00 (referent) | - |
| Yes | 43 (24) | 2.07 | 2.31 (1.29-4.14) | - | 3.00 (1.63-5.51) | - |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence interval; EMD, extramedullary disease; HR, hazard ratio; NR, not reached; PFS, progression-free survival. | ||||||
| Characteristic | n (event n) | Response Rate (%) | OR (95% CI) | P Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMD | - | - | - | <0.01 |
| No | 75 (53) | 72.6 | 1.00 (referent) | - |
| Yes | 43 (16) | 37.2 | 4.47 (2.00-9.99) | - |
| Abbreviations: CI, confidence interval; EMD, extramedullary disease; OR, odds ratio; ORR, overall response rate. | ||||
| Characteristic | Patient 5 | Patient 7 |
|---|---|---|
| Age, years | 67 | 48 |
| Sex | F | M |
| ECOG PS | 2 | 3 |
| Time since diagnosis, months | 81 | 15 |
| MM isotype | IgGλ | IgAκ |
| Cytogenetic abnormalities | N/A | +1q, del(13), hyperdiploid |
| Extramedullary plasmacytoma | Yes | Yes |
| Number of prior lines of therapy | 7 | 4 |
| Triple-class refractory | Yes | Yes |
| Penta-drug refractory | Yes | Yes |
| Prior AHCT | Yes | No |
| Prior BCMA-directed CAR-T | No | No |
| eGFR at time of TECVAYLI initiation (mL/min) | 22 | HD |
| Abbreviations: AHCT, autologous hematopoietic cell transplantation; BCMA, B-cell maturation antigen; CAR-T, chimeric antigen receptor T cell; CRS, cytokine release syndrome; ECOG PS, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status; eGFR, estimated glomerular filtration rate; F, female; HD, hemodialysis; ICANS, immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome; Ig, immunoglobulin; M, male; MM, multiple myeloma; N/A, not available; PD, progressive disease; RRMM, relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma; VGPR, very good partial response. | ||
| Efficacy Parameters | Patient 5 | Patient 7 |
|---|---|---|
| Duration of follow-up, months | 1.5 | 1 |
| Best response | PD | PD |
| Abbreviation: PD, progressive disease. | ||
A literature search of MEDLINE®
| 1 | Janssen Research & Development, LLC. A phase 1, first-in-human, open-label, dose escalation study of teclistamab, a humanized BCMA x CD3 bispecific antibody in subjects with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma. In: ClinicalTrials.gov [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US). 2000- [cited 2026 August 19]. Available from: https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03145181 NLM Identifier: NCT03145181. |
| 2 | |
| 3 | |
| 4 | |
| 5 | |
| 6 | |
| 7 | |
| 8 | |
| 9 | |
| 10 | |
| 11 | |
| 12 | |
| 13 | |
| 14 | |
| 15 | |
| 16 | |
| 17 | |
| 18 |
Would you like to clear and leave your conversation? Message history will be lost.